Hope is NOT a wish

HOPE is not a vague concept, but something much deeper than any of us can fathom. In recent months while preparing my heart and mind for what God now has me doing the word Hope kept coming to mind. Before my trip to Africa I made the decision after much thought to name the Non-Profit he has me Launching “Hope Found”, then after my trip it became “Hope Found International”. Everywhere I turned the word HOPE seemed to surround me. Even when decorating our church for Christmas, the theme selected revolved around Hope. In fact, we put the word HOPE center stage as our backdrop. It is no accident that the word HOPE has crossed my path more times in the last few months than ever in my life before. So when I began to ask God why he has me so focused on that one word, he revealed to me that what our world has made Hope into is not exactly what he created it to mean. I began to think about that bold statement with even a doubtful/ confused response at first, after all – everyone knows what hope means? Right? I then took a moment to think  back on all the challenging and hopeless situations I found myself in over the last 11 years, before my relationship with Jesus and everything I felt I knew or  learned about hope was from stories I heard, hearing about hope described as a wish or something desired, and others.  Although, there is nothing truly “wrong” with that…it became clear to me that over the years Hope had become a term lightly used for many. I also was guilty of loosely knowing the true meaning of HOPE before my relationship with God became closer.  I too thought of hope as ” wishful thinking”. As I went back and studied the Greek translation of the word Hope (ELPIS), I found it was much more than a wishy -washy version of waiting for something to happen or a wishful thought. It is in fact a CONFIDENT EXPECTATION OF TRUST AND CERTAINTY.

To have biblical hope is to have a sure anchor of the soul. There is a HUGE difference in wishful thinking, and HOPE. This spoke volumes to me because it completely changes my view of having hope, Hope for our hurting world etc…

God IS hope, hope can be found by faithfully believing that God will keep his promises and your hope in him can be strengthened by immersing yourself in his word. Here are a few of my best-loved scriptures regarding HOPE with breakdowns of meaning:

*And so Lord, where do I put my hope?(my thoughts, desires, most certain and confident expectations). My only Hope is in you. Psalms 39:7

*Be Joyful in hope, (joyful because you are CERTAIN of the outcome) Patient in affliction, (patiently waiting on God) faithful in prayer (faithful to stand firm declaring) Romans 12:12

*We have this hope as an anchor (that which keeps one supported and steadfast in times of trial or doubt) for the soul. Hebrews 6

This totally brings something Pastor James Grayson spoke about at service to mind: You can know about something you learned or read about, but until you have complete UNDERSTANDING of what it means….you cant begin to live in the meaning of it.

This just blows my mind! Haha. God is good! There is so much he is showing me and has me doing right now specifically for those in need of HOPE, it’s so dang difficult to contain! He has brought me to a new understanding of HOPE so that I can move forward with this new ministry and bring HOPE FOUND in JESUS to the world. As my husband and I embark on this new journey we know we are totally encompassed by his favor, protection and guidance. Please keep Hope Found International in your prayers. Pray specifically for favor with city officials and funding as well as the women who he sends our way for help. Thank you!

Praying this spoke to you as much as it did me. Have a blessed day!

HOPE CHANGES EVERYTHING!

 

PF

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In my daily life, I have noticed how I view Hope now as compared to a wishful thoughts.

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment